Diagnostics

Split-Night Polysomnography (Titration Study)


Medical referral required

Titration with Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) is commonly done during the same night as a diagnostic polysomnogram (PSG) to save waiting time, minimize cost to the patient, and treat sleep apnea as soon as possible. Early treatment may reduce cardiovascular complications of sleep apnea. In brief, the technician will gradually increase CPAP pressure (pressurized room air, not oxygen), delivered through the soft mask, to the level that eliminates most or all episodes of cessation of breathing. This level of CPAP pressure will be prescribed for home therapy.

The patient often begins the night on a low pressure of his CPAP or bilevel. As the person goes to sleep, he will be monitored for disruptions in his breathing. Any hypopneas, apneic events, or snoring will prompt the sleep technician to adjust the pressure of their CPAP machine remotely. Again, the person will be monitored at this higher pressure. The goal is to minimize apnea and hypopnea events and eliminate snoring.

It is also ideal for the patient to be titrated to an effective pressure supine (on their back) and during periods of rapid eye movement (REM) sleep. These two conditions will often lead to worsened sleep apnea, so an effective pressure in these conditions would be most favorable. Often towards the end of this study, the pressures may be increased even farther. This will allow the reviewing respirologist to make comparisons among the various pressures and may reveal changes that need to be made in the pressures for the most effective management of the personís sleep apnea.

Location:

Pointe-Claire (SouthWest One Complex across Lakeshore General Hospital)175 Stillview, Local 128, Pointe-Claire, QC H9R 4S5

Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday 8:00am- 5:00pm
Evenings for Testing: 8:00pm-8:00am
Weekends always available for testing upon request
Tel.: (514) 695-4848
Fax: (514) 695-4308

SERVICES Diagnostiques

Polysomnographie nuit partagée (Titration))


Ordonnance médicale obligatoire

La titration avec pression positive continue (PPC) est communément réalisée durant la même nuit que la polysomnographie diagnostique (PSG), pour diminuer les délais d'attente, les coûts au patient et pour traiter l'apnée du sommeil le plus tôt possible. Un traitement précoce permet de réduire les complications cardiovasculaires reliées à l'apnée du sommeil. En bref, le technicien va augmenter graduellement la pression de l'appareil à pression positive continue (air ambiant pressurisé, non de l'oxygène) délivrée par le biais d'un masque souple, jusqu'au niveau nécessaire permettant d'éliminer la majorité voir la totalité des épisodes d'arrêts respiratoires. Ce niveau de pression positive continue est ensuite prescrit pour le traitement à domicile.

En début de nuit, l'appareil à pression positive continue (PPC) ou celui à bi-niveaux délivre d'abord au patient un niveau de pression faible. Pendant que le patient entre progressivement en phase de sommeil, lorsque des anomalies de sa respiration sont observées elles font l'objet d'un monitoring. En effet, lorsque des évènements respiratoires se manifestent tels que des hypopnées, des apnées ou du ronflement, la pression de l'appareil (PPC) est augmentée à distance par le technicien, jusqu'à la pression appropriée. Le but est de diminuer les hypopnées, les apnées et d'éliminer le ronflement.

En outre, la titration permet également de déterminer la pression efficace pour le patient lorsque ce dernier se retrouve en position dorsale et durant les périodes de sommeil profond lent (REM). En effet, ces deux conditions conduisent souvent à un niveau d'apnée plus élevé d'où l'importance de déterminer le niveau de pression adéquat en de telles conditions. Souvent, les pressions sont augmentées davantage avant la fin de l'étude. Cela permet au pneumologue qui révise les résultats de faire certaines comparaisons entre les différentes pressions nécessaires et révèle les changements qui doivent être réalisés pour assurer au patient un traitement de l'apnée du sommeil le plus efficace qui soit.d

Location:

Pointe-Claire (SouthWest One Complex across Lakeshore General Hospital) 175 Stillview, Local 128, Pointe-Claire, QC H9R 4S5

Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday 8:00am- 5:00pm
Evenings for Testing: 8:00pm-8:00am
Weekends always available for testing upon request
Tel.: (514) 695-4848
Fax: (514) 695-4308